Reviews

What people are saying about Cherwood Guest House




Outstanding facility - Rating 5/5

Welcoming, scrupulously clean, nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again when in the area.

Reviewer:Rob S | Mon 4th Mar 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Visiting family- Rating 5/5

We came back to The Cherwood after staying 18 months ago. As was then, the rooms were v clean, tidy and comfortable. Breakfast was v good and set us up for the day ahead. Hazel is a lovely host, making us very welcome and nothing was too much. We will definitely be going back there. Thank you Hazel, David and the dogs.

Reviewer:Peter B | Sat 2nd Mar 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Cherwood Hotel- Rating 5/5

Beautiful rooms and location. Would highly recommend and will be returning.Thank you for a lovely stay.

Response

Thanks for your review Dean, I hope you had a great visit with your friendsHazel

Reviewer:Dean F | Sat 23rd Feb 2019 | 3 weeks ago


We had a lovely stay- Rating 5/5

Thanks for a lovely stay, the hotel was lovely and the owners very kind and helpful.

Reviewer:Rebecca G | Mon 11th Feb 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely weekend- Rating 5/5

We had a great time, we were made to feel so welcome. Highly recommend, comfy beds, spotlessly clean, yummy breakfast 😍

Reviewer:Louise D | Mon 4th Feb 2019 | 1 month ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

What a great hotel fantastic people run it and we was very well looked after from arrival to departureGreat place to stay

Reviewer:Nickie C | Mon 7th Jan 2019 | 2 months ago


Can\'t recommend enough - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 1 night &can't recommend this place enough. Lovely room, great breakfast &made to feel very welcome. Will return again in the not too distant future

Reviewer:Andrew m | Tue 1st Jan 2019 | 2 months ago


Perfect christmas break - Rating 5/5

What a lovely hotel. Made very welcome as soon as we arrived. Great comfortable room, awesome breakfast, great location and parking nearby. Hazel was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Highly reccommend and we will definatly be returning.

Reviewer:Kayleigh c | Mon 31st Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Clean, affordable. Everything you would expect. - Rating 5/5

Hazel is friendly and very accomodating, everything you would expect from a hostess.The B&B is clean and well presented. Breakfast was excellent and just as pictured on the website.The location is ideal and a couple minutes walk to the seafront. We'll definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Amy W | Mon 24th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely- Rating 5/5

Lovely place lovely people will stay again for sure

Reviewer:David W | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 3 months ago


Superb stay at Cherwood - Rating 5/5

Perfect. No complaints.Room was lovely and so modern, great décor.Hosts were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Great place for children.Lush breakfast. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Sue W | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 3 months ago


Great nights sleep.....5 stars - Rating 5/5

Great breakfast.Lovely comfy room.Brilluant hosts. Very very clean.Everything you want.Very helpful couple run the hotel.They gave us great advice.

Reviewer:duncan c | Fri 14th Dec 2018 | 3 months ago


Fantastuc nights sleep. - Rating 5/5

Great breakfast.Lovely comfy room.Brilluant hosts. Very very clean.Everything you want.Very helpful couple run the hotel.They gave us great advice.

Reviewer:duncan c | Fri 14th Dec 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely warm friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Thanks Hazel for a lovely stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay with you and would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area. Really handy location for both town and seafront. Lovely host great breakfast.

Reviewer:andrew j | Mon 3rd Dec 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent accommodation- Rating 5/5

This family run hotel made us feel very welcome. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was to a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend for a stay for anytime of the year.

Reviewer:Ian & Zebby G | Mon 3rd Dec 2018 | 3 months ago


Wonderful Hospitality - Rating 5/5

David and Hazel provide an excellent bed and breakfast establishment. Rooms are clean and well appointed. This is complemented by the pleasant ambience. Thanks.

Reviewer:jeff c | Thu 29th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Amazing place! - Rating 5/5

This place is amazing David hazel and their boys are so helpful. Fantastic place great hosts. Would recommend them highly.

Reviewer:Alison F | Mon 12th Nov 2018 | 4 months ago


Miss Ewing- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay. Friendly and welcoming staff. Lovely with the children. Beautifull and clean decor,lovely room and fantastic breakfast. Highly recommended the cherwood and will definitely be back very soon

Reviewer:Claire E | Mon 12th Nov 2018 | 4 months ago


Professionell and warm hearted - Rating 5/5

You can feel the passion in keeping everything nice and comfortable. Beautyfull room, nice family atmosphere, tailormade great breakfirst. You arrive and feel like welcome at home. We were absolutely happy.

Reviewer:Kay M | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 4 months ago


Friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

My room was tastefully furnished and very clean.The hosts are friendly and helpful.Highly recommended for a comfortable and relaxed stay.

Reviewer:Kate R | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 4 months ago


Short but very sweet - Rating 5/5

Even though we were only in town for 1 night, we were given a warm welcome and enjoyed the fine hospitality. Room was exactly as described, warm, clean and comfortable. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Geoffrey H | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 4 months ago


Brilliant holiday - Rating 5/5

We had an amazing 5 days. The Cherwood is a lovely modern hotel with no faults. Thank you Hazel and David. Hopefully be back again next year.

Reviewer:paul H | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time, very welcoming and clean. The room was spacious and lovely decor. Great location. The bed was one of the most comfortable have slept in at any hotel. Would visit again and highly recommend. The breakfast was really good too.

Reviewer:william B | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful stay, fabulous hosts - Rating 5/5

Really friendly proprietor, brilliant value for money, comfy beds, clean rooms, modern decor, lovely cooked breakfast which was very cheap for what was on offer - I would happily have paid more. Will definitely stay here again !

Reviewer:Claire J | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 4 months ago


B&b- Rating 5/5

Very friendly clean accommodation lovely breakfast will come again and will reccomend to my family and friends

Reviewer:Mrs Angela G | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 4 months ago


Great value - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean and friendly service . Located right by the sea and short walk to town . Breakfast was super and it great value for money

Reviewer:Michelle C | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 4 months ago


Wow! - Rating 5/5

Ideally situated in the heart of Paignton, in a quiet, pleasant road, with parking close by. Excellent, modern family room with quality beds and bedding- an excellent nights' sleep was had by all. Breakfast was cooked to order at a time of your choosing, and it was a really good breakfast. Friendly proprietors in this family-friendly hotel made for a wonderful short break. Wow! We will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Sue M | Wed 24th Oct 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

The hotel was very clean and tidy. Had a very warm and friendly welcome. The room had everything you needed and more. Nothing to comment about the cleaning. Everywhere was spotless. . Only one small issue was that you could be overlooked my neighbours. As no curtain for your privicy in room. Good location to everywhere. No parking on site. But local carpark closeby.

Reviewer:Kim W | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay. Owners were so lovely and helpful.Kids loved the games and DVD's that they could choose to watch. Room was lovely. Everything was great and breakfast yummy. Would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.Thank you.xx

Reviewer:TERESA S | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay lovely people- Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Cherwood for a swift overnight stay with my children and my disabled mum.Rooms were clean and tidy.The hosts were lovely plessant people and very welcoming.I would certainly return and recommend the hotel/B&B

Reviewer:Vicky R | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Awesome!- Rating 5/5

Great room with a lovely big bed!Very warm welcome... and the breakfast was to die for!Could not recommend highly enough!Sam

Reviewer:Samual N | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Another relaxing stay in this lovely hotel.The owners are helpful and friendly, the room was beautifully furnished and spotless, and the breakfast was delicious.

Reviewer:Kate R | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Family room - Rating 5/5

Such a wonderful stay yet again, its like home from home, great value for money and one of the nicest,friendliest and most comfortable hotels to stay at in this area, we will be returning.

Reviewer:Stuart and Emma M | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay! The room was first class and very comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. Hazel and David were friendly and very welcoming,we will definitely stay again. Love ja x

Reviewer:Julieann B | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Would recommend..... - Rating 5/5

Clean and tidy...loved the decor too...great value. Run by a lovely couple Hazel &Dave who were extremely helpful above and beyond the call of duty. Breakfast superb. I would recommend it.

Reviewer:Paul L | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Would recommend..... - Rating 5/5

Clean and tidy...loved the decor too...great value. Run by a lovely couple Hazel &Dave who were extremely helpful above and beyond the call of duty. Breakfast superb. I would recommend it.

Reviewer:Paul L | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

We had a great stay at the B&B hostel. The people are nice and it is quiet at the house.Very friedndly stay and a tasty breakfast as we liked it

Reviewer:Ulrich R | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 5 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Hazel and David were extremely welcoming. The room was spotless and the breakfast tasty. Situated at the heart of Paignton with easy access to the surrounding area.

Reviewer:Alison H | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 5 months ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Made very welcome and we were very pleased when we were shown our roombeautifully decorated and exceptional clean with everything we neededHad a good nights sleep on a extremely comfortable bed then went on our way after a rather good breakfast

Reviewer:Janette E | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


A Week in Paignton at Cherwood - Rating 4/5

I was travelling with a lady friend - we had a very happy stay at Cherwood. A pleasant room and very comfortable bed!Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice, and set us up for the day.The house is SO convenient for all Paignton facilities.We had a great week.We also loved the company of the two sweetest dogs!Right up our street!Thank you Hazel and David

Reviewer:Wendy M | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

The landlady was very helpful and we had a excellent nights sleep and breakfast was really nice

Reviewer:Mark S | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

I was made to feel very welcome. The room was spotless, Hazel is a very friendly and helpful host, and the breakfast was lovely. The location was convenient for train station and sea front. I really can't fault the Cherwood.

Reviewer:Kate R | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Two night stay - Rating 4/5

Very warm welcome to a clean and well appointed residence. Comfortable room had everything needed for an enjoyable stay. Will definitly stay there again

Reviewer:Sandra C | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


No complaints - Rating 5/5

Convenient carpark nearby, comfy, everything we needed, lovely breakfast and helpful and friendly owner!

Reviewer:Sam A | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


choose here - Rating 5/5

Very simple review ,,, very clean , nice location , lovely hosts , parking available nice breakfast,,,5 stars from us ,, we will returnSimon and Deb

Reviewer:simon g | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

10 out of 10 for everything!

Reviewer:mrs tracy s | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Great value for money - Rating 5/5

Our Hosts Hazel and Peter catered for all our needs. Nothing was too much trouble for them which made our stay even more enjoyable. Close to the town and all the amenities the Cherwood Hotel is ideally situated and is highly recommended.

Reviewer:Terry J | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

Wonderful hosts, friendly and accomodatingLovely room, comfortable bed and facilitiesHighly recommend and hope to visit again

Reviewer:Hayley F | Sat 8th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Best Hotel in Paignton - Rating 5/5

stayed a week august/sept 2018. 4th time i've stayed . .Hazel and David are fantastic. . .nothing too much trouble . .Most rooms redecorated, good beds and showers . . .Extensive choice at breakfast to suit the nibblers, the starving and the plain finicky . .Quiet location but close to all amenities and rail/bus stations.

Reviewer:Alan S | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Two weeks holiday at Cherwood - Rating 5/5

Excellent serviceHappy and cheerful hostsWe rate this establishment five starsSe you again soonJohn and cynthia. Spain

Reviewer:john & cynthia s | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Beautiful and friendly - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic stay at cherwood, Hazel and David were so lovely and helpful and made us feel completely at home, even offering some of their childs toys for my son to play with! We left after four days with a promise to book again for october and next August, 100% rating in our books!!

Reviewer:Naomi T | Sat 1st Sep 2018 | 6 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

We had booked a family holiday in advance via a booking website. Unfortunately, as the time drew near two family members passed away and one funeral was right in the middle of our holiday.We rang the hotel to explain and Hazel (proprietor) was so helpful at this upsetting time. We were very lucky and she was able to move our holiday by two days so we could go to the first funeral and return for the second. She was also able to accommodate one extra night so we could leave early.In addition this Bed and Breadfast is fantastic. Welcoming and friendly staff who helped my little girl get over her fear of dogs. Aimee now loves them.Clean, extremely well presented and we were sorry to leave. Lovely breakfast. We will be back again.Thank you, you turned a very sad time into a lovely holiday.

Reviewer:Natasha J | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 6 months ago


3 night stay - Rating 5/5

We were a par of four adults staying in two roseate rooms. From the moment we arrived to our departure Hazel could not do enough for us!The room were stylish and spotless, the breakfast offered a varied choice and was delicious! ''This was our second stay at the Cherwood Hotel and we would certainly return, once again we were not disappointed!

Reviewer:Christine F | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 6 months ago


Totally Family Friendly - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Cherwood from Friday through to the following Bank Holiday Monday with our 12 year old son and had a fabulous time. Hazel and David made us feel most welcome andwere very accommodating. The room was a very decent size room with a separate area for our son to sleep in. They was having works done the next day and Hazel made sure to let us know about this so we wouldn't be rudely awakened. She offered us some great advice as to suitable places to visit and to eat and when it was raining on the Sunday she told us the best place to visit and she was right. Breakfast was delicious, cooked to exactly how we requested it and at the times we requested. The hotel is perfectly situated near the sea, harbour, shops, amusements and some lovely restaurants. With Free Wifi and tea and coffee making facilities in the room, there was no reason to be bored on our mini break. I would totally recommend a visit here, but book direct to save money. Tell them Shirley sent you x

Reviewer:Shirley K | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 6 months ago


Happy stay- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay with our grandchildren.Hazel,Dave,&there lads Joe &Tom made us feel like we were friends rather than customers by the time we left couldn't do enough for us .Not forgetting Hazels parents to .Thoroughly recommend.

Reviewer:Nicholas M | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 6 months ago


Amazing guest house, highly recommend- Rating 5/5

Stayed at cherwood for 11 nights and it was a very modern, very clean, very comfatable guest house, the family room was great as seperate area for the kids to go to bed and watch tv, Hazel and David and her sons are so lovely and make u feel at home, nothing was ever to much trouble, breakfast was outstanding u had lots of choices of juices, yoghurts and cereals and then a cooked breakfast of your choice which was gorgeous. We would deffo stay here again, Big thank you to Hazel, David and the boys for your hospitality

Reviewer:Laura T | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 6 months ago


Visit for family birthday- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at Cherwood . Thank you Hazel for being so accommodating. The room was lovely , the breakfast so fresh . parking permit was great and so close by to park .We had a lovely time and we will be back SORRY !!! ha ha ha

Reviewer:Sharon C | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


our stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely b&b run by a lovely couple. The room we stayed in was light and airy with a large bathroom and plenty of storage space. The food we ordered the night before was well cooked and delicious. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr Ben Brown ( | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


our stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely b&b run by a lovely couple. The room we stayed in was light and airy with a large bathroom and plenty of storage space. The food we ordered the night before was well cooked and delicious. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr Ben Brown ( | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Nothing to fault an absolute excellent stay made very very welcome home from home

Reviewer:Shaun B | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent service had a good week always went the extra mile to make sure there guests were gappy. Thankyou.

Reviewer:Steph B | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


Pleasant Stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable nicely decorated room, very pleasant owner and a good breakfast.

Reviewer:Ian D | Fri 10th Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


our stay - Rating 5/5

first class hotel,friendly host ,lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:frank b | Thu 9th Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


Perfect place to stay!- Rating 5/5

The cherwood is a lovely B&B decorated beautifully and is most importantly clean! Hazel and David are so kind and welcoming and will not hesitate to assist with anything you need. There is a calm relaxed atmosphere that makes you feel at home and are free to come and go as you please. There are tvs in the rooms and dvds to borrow if you have young children, which can be a god send! The range of breakfasts suit anyone's needs and the full English is perfect! Overall we would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewer:Andrew B | Thu 2nd Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


A most enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

As the title says, I enjoyed all three days that I stayed. The owners could not have been more friendly and accommodating, I receiveda very pleasant welcome on arrival from Hazel and Dave , the guest house I found spotlessly clean and fresh together with everything in place as you would expect from a well run hotel.It’s location is superb for all amenities and also great car parking facilities.Altogether I would highly recommend this B+B for either short stay or traditional holiday break.I have stayed in many hotels and B+B in Paignton and this is by far the best.

Reviewer:Gareth D | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Cherwood hotel review- Rating 5/5

We had a great relaxing stay at the Cherwood hotel clean modern hotel room a quality breakfast. The hotel run very professionally a pleasure to stay there we shall be going back and I will be recommending to friends and family etc.

Reviewer:David S | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely hosts and house but disturbed sleep - Rating 4/5

Hazel and David were really friendly hosts.10/10 for cleanliness, decor and location. Good selection at breakfast.I stayed in the single room. Unfortunately I didn’t sleep well on the nights that the room above was occupied as the floorboards were so noisy.

Reviewer:ELAINE T | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Our stay - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay with Hazel, she's the perfect host. Clean room, nice breakfast.

Reviewer:Sandra W | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Best B&B in Paignton. - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, very accommodating. very clean and comfortable rooms, close to all amenities and an excellent breakfast. well done..

Reviewer:Malc G | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


wonderful place- Rating 5/5

amazing place, amazing breakfast.friendliness staff..recommends to everybody

Reviewer:Mickael P | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay here with my other half and two kids... very accommodating and welcoming to us all, especially our toddler (who loved the dogs and the goldfish).The accommodation is immaculate, light, spacious and modern, a travel cot was provided which was a massive help and there are lots of little touches which made our stay very comfortable!The location is perfect, a stones throw from the beach and bars ... recommended 👍

Reviewer:Jennifer E | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent location within 2 mins walk of the seafront and town.Room beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. I had a good night sleep.Hosts were very friendly and welcoming.Breakfast was delicious and good quality ingredients- meaty sausage and very thick bacon.Excellent value- didn’t realise I’d get such high quality at the price paid.

Reviewer:Richard W | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


What a great place to stay- Rating 5/5

We have just stayed for the weekendloverly clean hotel great breakfast would recommendto everybody

Reviewer:malcolm n | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Cherwood guest house, Paignton- Rating 5/5

Very clean, a very friendly couple, ideal location would recommend.

Reviewer:Karl P | Fri 13th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Sharon and lee zak - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay very welcoming room allocatef to us was on the ground floor which was very well presented very clean lovely shower breakfast was great lovely hosts nothing to much trouble gteat parking arrangements would definstel go back.

Reviewer:Sharon Z | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


paignton\'s best bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

stayed for 5 days in june 2018. 3rd time there and still the best. hazel and david have done a lot of decoration and refurbishment since taking over last year. breakfast spot on with plenty of options to suit all tastes. won't go hungry here. nothing too much trouble, very helpful and obliging. good atmosphere and family vibe.i will be returning later this year.

Response

Hi Alan,I\'m so sorry that I did not get to say goodbye.We hope you had a good journey home and that the present was a success.See you againHazel

Reviewer:Alan S | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Fabulous stay - would highly recommend to families especially- Rating 5/5

Great communication with Hazel beforehand, she was so helpful and keen to make our stay as smooth as possible.Opportunity to secure parking for a heavily discounted rate which was amazing!Location is just perfect - less than 5 minutes walk from the pier, park, family friendly pubs and the shops.The room was comfortable and even had a hot chocolate for our nephew before bedtime! :)Breakfast was delicious and there was a good selection to choose from.Really family friendly;there were children’s books and dvds which could be borrowed if required.Would highly recommend and look forward to staying again!

Reviewer:Joanne D | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Excellent in every way - Rating 5/5

This young couple have got Cherwood just right. Clean welcoming unpretentious and a delight in every way. I can thoroughly recommend this guest house to families and all travellers alike. Also two minutes walk from the beach but down a quiet side road. Good breakfast as well !

Reviewer:Mrs R | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Excellant stay at the Cherwood Hotel 24.06.18 - Rating 5/5

Wow.....This hotel is absolutely unbelievable both with the recent new furnishings along with the excellant treatment from the owners.Nothing was too much trouble from our initial phone call to book the Cherwood through to the end of our one night stay.We stayed in the Kingsize En-suite (room 7) which had a large bed along with beautiful matching furnishings and ample of room.When we looked out of our window we were also able to view Paigntons pier. In addition to this, the lovely Hazel sorted our car parking out for the best price of £3.50 which was for the car park literally on the next street behind the Green Inn pub.This enabled us to park until late evening the following day (if we wished) and for the same one off price.The price of the room also included our two breakfasts which we chose a full english each which came with tea, coffee and toast too. We found the Cherwood Hotel by surfing the internet and are absolutely thrilled and can say we definately made the right decision.The best place we have ever stayed and will definately use this accomodation (without doubt), should we visit Paignton again.VERY RECOMMENDED !!!!Thank you ' The Cherwood ' for help making our holiday very comfortable and most enjoyable x

Reviewer:vannesa h | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

The single room seems a bit smaller on first impression, but I still had sufficient space for my suitcase and most importantly it was very nice and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the owners very friendly and the location is perfect - near to the station and the beach, but still in a very quiet street. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Jan H | Sat 30th Jun 2018 | 8 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Very nice b &b and reasonably pricedWould not hesitate to book again

Reviewer:Andrew T | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 8 months ago


A great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Made to feel welcome when we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble, room nice &spotless. Breakfast was hot, fresh &plenty of it. Lovely couple, We will definitely book there again.

Reviewer:Karen W | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 8 months ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

great hotel. looked after us well. kids made welcome fantastic family room.

Reviewer:deborah g | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 8 months ago


Everything was brilliant- Rating 5/5

Hazel very friendly and helpful.Family Room was exactly as described. Everything clean, decorating was nice. Breakfast was really good as well. Will come again

Reviewer:Alex J | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 8 months ago


Hotel sherwood- Rating 5/5

Wonderful friendly place warm.comfortable clean will return mamy times again thankyou for an enjoyable stay

Reviewer:Sharon G | Tue 19th Jun 2018 | 9 months ago


Holiday - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay, and the room and Breakfast were very good, and both of you are very welcoming. Hope to see you again next year.Cheryle &Jeff

Reviewer:Mrs. Cheryle B | Sat 16th Jun 2018 | 9 months ago


Warm welcome... fabulous few days- Rating 5/5

We travelled from Basingstoke on a Friday night... Hazel and David waited up until we arrived at 9pm. They were very welcoming abd friendly.We had the family room, which the boys loved... their own TV,and space within earshot but away from prying eyes.The bed was amazingly comfortable,so hubster is buying one himself... the room was clean and welcoming,there was plenty of tea and coffee making facilities unlike most places where they have one of everything... there was also plenty of space for every one to be able to unpack their clothes(another rarity). The en suite was clean and the shower lovely.Breakfast was perfect, all our dietary needs we're catered for, it was delicious and filling and neither boys needed feeding again until about 1pm. The location is central to.the town area and the beach, and parking facilities are very good for a small price. I would totally recommend a stay here, it's reasonably priced and very clean. The recent work done to it makes it stand out from the rest of the establishments in the area. Thank you for a lovely stay and we look forward to our next visit. Xx

Reviewer:Shirley K | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 9 months ago


Lindsey, Rosie and Bill - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much Hazel and David for a fantastic stay at Cherwood. your hospitality and friendliness was outstanding. You made us feel very welcome. Deffo recommend your guest house and we would come back again.

Reviewer:Lindsay E | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 9 months ago


Amazing 😀 - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 1 night on the 30th May 18. Owners are lovely, rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is perfect. The Cherwood is close to everything. We will be back !!!

Reviewer:Victoria A | Sat 2nd Jun 2018 | 9 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Everything is above expectations. Wonderful hotel.

Reviewer:Daniel B | Thu 31st May 2018 | 9 months ago


Short stay ultra hot weather!- Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful, fixed door knob on bathroom straight away when reported it had come off, lovely white towels and sheets, family room was a bit too airless in very hot weather. A fan would have been useful. Breakfast ample and well cooked. Very convenient for beach and town. I'd recommend!

Reviewer:Catherine J | Wed 30th May 2018 | 9 months ago


Heartfelt thanks to Hazel and family at The Cherwood! - Rating 5/5

We are not regular users of B&B establishments, but that doesn't mean we don't know a good one when we find it.Quite simply, Cherwood is the best we have come across.Our room was immaculate.The friendly and efficient service from Hazel was exemplary. The breakfast was superb with a huge variety of cereals as well as "a full English"- with the important addition of real fresh fruit!In addition, they got in some gluten-free bread for me at very short notice.I'll give them better notice next time!Heartily recommended!

Reviewer:David W | Tue 29th May 2018 | 9 months ago


Cherwood Guest house-highly recommended - Rating 5/5

I can not thank Hazel and Dave enough for the hospitality they showed Me and my family thia bank holiday weekend. The hotel is clean and tidy (i even found them mopping at 11pm), we had room 8 the family room which even with kingsize bed, bunk beds and wardrobes and draws still had room for my one year old to run around and play. There is no long term parking outside the hotel but you can park to drop your things in and purchase a permit from Dave and Hazel for £3 for 24 hours for a car park which is 2 minutes walk. We had breakfast included each morning with a choice of cereals yoghurts and cooked breakfast or cooked breakfast sandwhich. We opted for 2 childrens cooked breakfasts each morning and 1 adult cooked breakfast and breakfast sandwich. Orders are placed the night before and you select a time you will be down and the food is freshly cooked for your arrival. I especially liked that the breakfasts were coooked as opposed to fried as this ensured they were not greasy especially for my boys and the food was delicious. Highly recommend Cherwood and we will definitely be back. Thank you :) Dave,Leah and the boys x

Reviewer:Leah W | Mon 28th May 2018 | 9 months ago


Perfection- Rating 5/5

The room was perfect, very comfortable, clean and well presented. En-suite was good eith very powerful shower. Breakfast was delicious with a large selection of cold or cooked food. Hazel and Dave were brilliant hosts. Loved it.

Reviewer:Liz & Nev R | Sun 27th May 2018 | 9 months ago


Perfect- Rating 4/5

A flying visit to Paignton from Scotland to attend a family party and found this hotel via booking.com very comfortable / clean family room with every facility you expect to find in a premium establishment, and a good breakfast just what was needed the morning after the night before. Will definitely stay again hopefully for an extended stay.

Reviewer:Shaun D | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 10 months ago


First class!- Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend cherwood and will be booking for next year im sure.Room was excellent as was the breakfast and cheery service.Many thanks.

Reviewer:michael h | Mon 7th May 2018 | 10 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Hosts excellent, lovely family home in which to stay. Breakfast great, good clean quality food delivered with a smile. Thank you.

Reviewer:Joanne W | Sun 6th May 2018 | 10 months ago


Cherwood hotel - Rating 5/5

Wonderfull hotel,facilites where first class, dave and hazel were very friendly and welcoming very approchable cant wait to return later in year

Reviewer:David h | Tue 1st May 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent location just a few steps away from the beach, but at the same time very quiet and cosy. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable and veryclean rooms. The owners are really kind and nice people,putting theirguests' satisfaction on top of everything. Family atmosphere, like being at home.Definitely a place to return to.

Reviewer:simone s | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely family run guest house. - Rating 5/5

Spent 3 nights here with some friends. Friendly hosts, clean accommodation, tasty breakfast. What more could you ask for, and excellent value for money. Would return if ever back in Paignton.

Response

Rose,It was a pleasure to have you here.I\'m pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that the weather did not delay you again.We hope your journey home was good.All the best, Hazel, David, Grace & Buddy

Reviewer:Rose F | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 11 months ago


Enjoyed - Rating 5/5

Cherwood is a great family place yo stay. Me my wife and 2 children stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. The host lisa is a very lovely and polite lady. Breakfast is a must if you stay as it is exactly what you need in the morning. Perfect and 10 out of 10. Rooms nice and clean. Cant ask for much more. Thank you lisa for a great stay and looking after our bags in tge morning as our train was at 2pm.

Reviewer:Panna S | Fri 21st Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely little guest house- Rating 5/5

very welcoming, brilliant breakfast,room were very nice clean and up to date decor. Nice and close to beach/pier and shops. Parking about 1 minuets walk away.

Reviewer:Jason Q | Sun 10th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Cherwood House- Rating 4/5

Comfortable , lovely room, attention to detail. Lovely breakfast room too.

Reviewer:Samantha P | Thu 7th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time room was clean breakfast superb and well looked after by the owner. Thank you for keeping our case on departure day so we were free to enjoy the day without carrying our suitcase. Would always recommend this place.

Reviewer:Rod T | Wed 6th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


My stay at the Cherwood - Rating 5/5

The guest house was in an ideal location.The room was clean and had plenty of drawer space which I found very useful.The breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice.The staff were lovely.Would stay there again when I am down in Devon.

Reviewer:Lorna G | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 4/5

Stay for 2 night with 16 year old,enough room for us all. like the fridge in the room so we could have cold drinks &have a nice big walk in shower.Breakfast was good size &filled us up for the day.

Reviewer:Julie B | Wed 29th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Road trip - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and accommodation for our show ort stay

Reviewer:Paul T | Thu 23rd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, comfortable room and lovely breakfast. For a reasonably priced seaside guest house it was excellent.

Reviewer:Colin C | Thu 23rd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We had a really nice time at Cherwood hotel. Staff very friendly. It is in a very good position for shops, pubs, beach and everything else you could need. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Reviewer:VALERIE A | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Definately stay again - Rating 5/5

We booked this guest house after reading other reviews and happily they were right.we had a great room with separate room for our young son and it was bliss. He had his own tv and dvd and was chuffed.the breakfasts were substantial and basically everything was tasty and hot.lovely host and great stay thankyou

Reviewer:Chris M | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


fabulous weekend - Rating 5/5

Second time to the cherwood, and a fabulous weekend again. A lovely place to stay, 2 monutes from the beach and town with a warm welcome from owner Lisa. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Dave B | Tue 24th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Over night stay in May 2016 - Rating 4/5

Lovely overnight stay at the cherwood. Spotless hotel and friendly staff. Will defiantly return soon.

Reviewer:Miss. Kelly T | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Cosy B&B - Rating 4/5

Everything was perfect at this B&B. We stayed at a busy weekend and everything from check-in, the room and the full English breakfast was brilliant. Will definitely stay again

Reviewer:Theresa T | Wed 4th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Value B&B - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my 3 days at the Cherwood, foodexcellent with a varied breakfast menu, location great, close to everything youcould need.

Reviewer:Keith M | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous find- Rating 4/5

Great location - spacious spotlessly clean room,great value for money,good breakfast - would recommend and stay here again.Only thing that stops it getting 5 stars is the carpets - theyre clean but look quite old and dated.

Reviewer:Kay K | Fri 15th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Our holiday - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Cherwood,its a family run business and they are very friendly and helpful. It was also lovely and quiet which was great for getting the children off to sleep.

Reviewer:Zoe P | Sat 9th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


two night stay - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay at cherwood hotel,very friendly,clean and a lovely breakfast,good parking arangements,will stay there again

Reviewer:John Y | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic guest house- excellent location- Rating 5/5

Received a very warm welcome on arrival, room was spotless with everything you need including super comfy beds!, bottled water in the fridge was a nice touch. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Location was great just 1 mins walk from parking, seafront and pier, brilliant park for the kids also! Breakfast was lovely and the kids really appreciated the Easter eggs they were given on check out. Thank you. Will definitely be back for another visit one day.

Reviewer:Lyndsey D | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean, extremely welcoming and friendly landlady, bed was superb, so comfortable, excellent breakfast and a nice touch that I haven't seen anywhere else was a table top fridge in our room. Would definitely recommend this place to any one.

Reviewer:Chris M | Mon 29th Feb 2016 | 3 years ago


Very comfortable guest house - Rating 4/5

Stayed here one night in January. Was made to feel most welcome. Room was very comfortable.

Reviewer:Mike R | Fri 29th Jan 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful service - Rating 5/5

Great place. Spotless and the breakfasts to die for. Lisa the owner is just wonderful. Rooms great

Reviewer:Catherine G | Fri 22nd Jan 2016 | 3 years ago


all good! - Rating 5/5

Friendly clean and comfortable and a great location - all good!

Reviewer:Gail T | Thu 31st Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Very Pleasant - Rating 4/5

A lovely and very pleasant small hotel in an ideal situation close to Paignton beach. Superb service from very friendly owners and a fabulous breakfast...

Reviewer:Paul P | Wed 23rd Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Cherwood for one night. We had one double and the family room. The rooms were very bright and clean.Great location and yummy breakfast. Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Lisa H | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Phelmsman@ntlworld.com - Rating 5/5

Great little family guesthouse. We spent just five Nights here , &found it excellent value for money Lisa our host did every thing to make out stay as pleasant &comfortable as possible , our room was well furnished with comfortable bed ,&En - suite shower &toilet facilities more than adequate . We found the preselect your own breakfast Time &menu system very helpful enabling us to vary times to suit our day's events. The menu being well prepared &cooked to order was of s very high standard.We would recommend without reservation.... Thank You Lisa &family team for s very pleasant few days . Pete &Pat Tyler

Reviewer:PETER T | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Absolutely superb accommodation - the second time we have visited this year.Excellent room, comfortable bed and a breakfast to die for!What's not to like!Very highly recommended.

Response

thank you so much.hopefullysee you again soon,lisa x

Reviewer:Rod C | Sun 20th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Mukava hotelli. - Rating 5/5

Nice place, good situation. Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Kari M | Sat 4th Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


Cherwood Hotel - Rating 5/5

Nice comfortable hotel, in good location. Breakfast was good and plentiful We only stayed one night to break our journey but would be happy to stay longer on another trip. Thank you Lisa.

Reviewer:Kathleen W | Fri 3rd Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Super location, very friendly and helpful owners. Room was cosy, clean and offered everything we needed including little thoughtful extras which was a nice touch.Breakfast was cooked fresh to order and delicious too. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nicola S | Mon 29th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I have awarded 5 stars, if I could award 10 I would.Superb location near the sea front, bus/rail station and shops, beds comfortable, breakfast brilliant!We have been to Paignton many times and this is the best hotel we have stayed at - we will definitely return.

Reviewer:Rod C | Sun 21st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

An excellent stay. Very convenient for railway station and seafront.

Reviewer:Mr. CLIVE R | Thu 18th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed 3 nights here and thought the B &B was excellent. The room was spacious and clean and and had all the amenities you could want. The bathroom was small but not cramped and again was very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked to order so was hot! I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra S | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Good overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service, lovely room and nice breakfast. What more could one ask for. Enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewI | Fri 12th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


very cean and fresh - Rating 4/5

My husbund and I were made very welcome at the cherwood .fantastic breakfast, and plenty of it.our room was clean and fresh. The only thing was the mattress and pillows were a bit uncomfortable, could do with replacing.but other than that it was all very good.

Reviewer:Lisa J | Fri 5th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


lovely place - Rating 5/5

Great location, right near the pier and shops,room spotlessly clean,and breakfast delicious, and very very filling,thank you

Reviewer:Hannah H | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Cool place to stay - Rating 5/5

Good sized room, clean and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Zarzeeth Seyed S | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Location - Very Clean & Good Food - Rating 5/5

Location is very good only a few yards walk to the sea front &not far from the Pier. Town centre is a ten min easy walk. Garfield Road is one way traffic with the no entry sign off the sea front which means it's not too noisy at night. The Hotel itself is very clean &well furbished,&the lighting is good.I'm a single female &stayed in the single double room on the ground floor situated at the front of the Hotel. Lisa the owner is approachable &helpful. When booking I informed her I was a vegetarian with Dairy &Yeast allergies. She got me the Soya milk &oat cakes that I'd requested. Breakfast had plenty of choices and was cooked well no greasy spoons here !!! I stayed here for 3 nights 30/31st Dec &1st Jan &would highly recommend this Hotel...Well done Lisa you're doing a great job.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemary B | Sat 3rd Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Delightful Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of the sea front and the town.We stayed in two family rooms and each one was tastefully decorated, light and airy, and our teenage daughter was delighted to find that her bed was in its own separate area with its own TV. The breakfast was very substantial with plenty of choice and our hosts, Chris and Lisa were very welcoming. The provision of car parking was also a much appreciated and thoughtful touch. I will definitely be recommending The Cherwood to family and friends looking for a delightful place to stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Cheryl P | Sun 31st Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Re-visit - Rating 5/5

Yet another wonderful comfortable and relaxing stay at stay at the Cherwood. Can highly recommed this hotel, you will certainly enjoy the relaxed but attentive style, and superb location of the hotel to all amenities.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan P | Sun 17th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Great Place to Stay in Paignton!! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel during the first May Bank Holiday and were very impressed with the room and the service we received. Very clean hotel throughout, fantastic hosts and great value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Ayokola O | Sat 10th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Cherwood for one night while travelling for business.The staff were great, breakfast was well done and the room was comfortable.Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Jesse S | Mon 28th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


maureen mcik /dawnapril 2014 - Rating 4/5

very pleasant staynice clean and comfortabale roomsgood breakfast with friendly hosts. will go back there next timewe stay in Paignton

Reviewer:Mrs. Maureen C | Tue 15th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


fantastic - Rating 5/5

would definetly reccommend

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen D | Fri 11th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


great location - Rating 5/5

5 min walk from the train station. Comfy bed. 1 minute walk to the beach, if that.Would recommend and stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Vitalijus T | Tue 1st Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


August Bank Holiday visit 2013 - Rating 5/5

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room, the breakfast was excellent and it didn’t feel that you were intruding in someone’s house as it can at some B&B’s but more like a mini hotel. We would defiantly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew T | Tue 27th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Our Recent Stay with You- Rating 5/5

As we travelled home from our visit to your hotel, my elderly Mother spoke very fondly of both hotel and the care we received. Having travelled down from Somerset by train, it turned out to be in the perfect situation for us, being so close to the station, shops, parks and beach. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and you both provided super breakfasts. Above all, we felt the overall atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. Many thanks to you both and Good Luck to the future of your excellent hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anna A | Sun 21st Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


CHERWOOD HOTEL - Rating 5/5

Excellent weekend spent at the CHERWOOD HOTELwould use again if down that way.Comfortable room and excellent food cannot fault thank you.

Reviewer:Brian D | Mon 20th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

cleanly decorated, peaceful. Fun staff/owners.Good breakfast, lots of choice and flexibility.Accomodating and free with tips and reccomendations for places to eat, where to get stuff etc. We were 2 adults and 2 kids in the same room and it was good fun.

Reviewer:Mr. John G | Thu 7th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays