Reviews

What people are saying about Cherwood Guest House




Great stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean room had a great night sleep. Very welcoming owners would deffo stay again and would highly recommend

Reviewer:Mr G | Sat 2nd Nov 2019 | 1 week ago


Holiday get away - Rating 5/5

The room was great, very comfy beds with a nice ensuite, stayed for two weeks and had a great stay, really lovely amazing host would definitely recommend staying here, the rooms were perfect for the price everything u would need they had for the room. 11/10 stay had a great holiday and the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Thx for a great stay????

Reviewer:Cameron D | Thu 31st Oct 2019 | 1 week ago


Paul, Jayne and Andrew - Rating 5/5

2nd time staying at Cherwood and again faultless. Great breakfast and lovely room. Hazel and David do an amazing job to run an excellent place to stay and even better Andrew loves to see Gracie and Buddy!!

Reviewer:paul H | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 1 week ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Clean, well decorated, nice breakfast, compfy, ideal for young families, good location, very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Leanne W | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 1 week ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

Fabulous place to stay , food was amazing , room was brilliant and owner was lovely .will definitely be back

Reviewer:Clare D | Sun 27th Oct 2019 | 1 week ago


excellent service - Rating 5/5

2nd time of staying here and the service is as good as ever, looking forward to my next visit

Reviewer:julie s | Sun 27th Oct 2019 | 1 week ago


Mr. - Rating 5/5

Really excellent &breakford

Reviewer:Mr& MrsH | Wed 23rd Oct 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Anniversary break- Rating 5/5

Had a great break close TO shops pier guest house was brilliant great breakfast comfy bed had a great time hazel couldn't do enough for us

Reviewer:Angela J | Tue 15th Oct 2019 | 3 weeks ago


holiday - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay once again ,sorry for messy you about on the dates,hope to see you again in the new year

Reviewer:Cheryle B | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 3 weeks ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

clean,comfortable,good food and excellent service from the owners

Reviewer:John M | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


short break - Rating 5/5

very good clean friendly owners very good value nice all round

Reviewer:Mr S S | Tue 1st Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Our stay at Cherwood - Rating 5/5

We had 4 nights here and they were the best we’ve ever had excellent service Hazel and Dave could not do enough for us freshly cooked breakfast every day room was spotless would definitely recommend and go again regards Richard and Teresa Weston’s

Reviewer:Richard W | Sat 21st Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Very friendly B&B! - Rating 5/5

We only stayed one night at the Cherwood on the way to a sailing trip but it was lovely - room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was great. Thank you for being so accommodating of my dietary restrictions. It was a pleasure to meet Hazel and her lovely dogs! Hope to visit again sometime!

Reviewer:Freya T | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


RECOMMENDED - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant 4-night stay at the Cherwood in an excellent central location. Very welcoming and friendly hosts in Hazel and David. Single room with plenty of room and fast-working shower. A total bargain at just £42.00 a night.

Reviewer:Chris G | Sat 14th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Spot on! - Rating 5/5

Very Clean. Very Comfortable. Top notch breakfast. And lovelyfriendly hosts. Thank you for a very relaxing break.

Reviewer:Lorraine S | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

From the time you arrive to the time you leave nothing is to much trouble. Would highly recommend this guest house and will always use when visiting Devon.

Reviewer:Stuart C | Sat 7th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Feels like staying with family! - Rating 5/5

Absolutely brilliant stay with Hazel and David once again. This is our 3rd time staying at Cherwood and it definitely won't be our last, Hazel and David are both so welcoming, the dogs are gorgeous and friendly when they come to say hello after breakfast has finished, even Hazels 2 boys are friendly (if a little shy!) The rooms are all beautifully decorated and always spotlessly clean. Whichever choice you make for breakfast, be it a full english or the waffles David makes sure that it is cooked to perfection every time! As a family they couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was everything we asked for, add to that the fact that Paignton is a beautiful little town with so much to do on the doorstep and its no wonder that i tell everyone it is my happy place!Thank you so much again Hazel and David, we will be in touch soon to book again!!

Reviewer:Naomi T | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Cherwood - Rating 5/5

Friendly people rooms was fantastic all clean brillant food service i would recommend to stay there

Reviewer:Charlotte W | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely Guest House - Rating 5/5

Friendly, clean and lovely guest house. The owners were super nice and very helpful.

Reviewer:Carole H | Sat 31st Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Cherwood Guest House - Rating 5/5

The room was superb, the hosts were excellent, the breakfast was of a high standard and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Reviewer:David H | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Cherwood Guest House - Rating 5/5

The hosts of Cherwood were very friendly and welcoming, the room was ideal with the partition separating the bunk beds from the double bed, they were very accomodating at breakfast for fussy children. We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay and would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Marie H | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Fantastic holiday - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time staying at the Cherwood.Third time we have stayed, can't fault the facilities and cleanliness.Hazel and David are very welcoming, looking forward to staying again next year. Fantastic breakfast whether you have the full english or the waffle.

Reviewer:Philip J | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Stay - Rating 5/5

Good accommodation, clean, friendly people who own it. unfortunately my eldest child was not completely well and the weather took a turning for the worst. My youngest was bored so we left early. Nothing to do with accommodation though. Lovely all round holiday. Great attractions around. Not far from beach and local harvester. Lovely chippy and park for the kids and lidl close by.Shame my child was poorly or we would of stayed longer

Reviewer:Sarah C | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


one night break - Rating 5/5

Visited for one night. Lovely room and en-suite - very clean and well presented. The host, Hazel, was very welcoming and helpful. Good location, just a short stroll from the front.

Reviewer:Bridgette & Micheal J | Thu 8th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Outstanding- Rating 5/5

The Cherwood Guest House was a big thumbs up everyhing was perfect. The staff Hazel and David were very welcoming and there dogs were very freindly too especialy with the kids. The facilities were excellent and the room was just right. The breakfast was just spot on the location was more than we asked for right in the middle of Paignton very handy for everything. I woukd highly recommend the Cherwood Guest House to stay in.

Reviewer:Edward A | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Family mini break - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the cherwood was fantastic,the family run b and b was very welcoming and hazel and david couldnt do enough to make stay enjoyable,extremely clean through out we had 2 excellent nights sleep in comfy beds followed by a superb breakfast with plenty o choice,location is a 5 minute walk from town centre and seafront would highly recommend the cherwood and are already planning our next visit

Reviewer:Christopher W | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Weekend Away with the Family - Rating 5/5

Hazel and David were very nice.We had a lovely breakfast each morning and waffles made for our girls.Our room was great with separate area with bunk beds for privacy for the girls.A very good location for beach and town and parking was stress free!!!

Reviewer:Maria H | Wed 24th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Great location, exceptionally clean and comfortable- Rating 5/5

Located close to seafront and centre. Exceptionally clean and comfortable guesthouse. No breakfast in the room rate but I knew that and didn’t need it due to early start. Highly recommended, I will be back next time.

Reviewer:Jem C | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful break!!- Rating 5/5

Everything was superb - starting with warm welcome from Hazel, early check-in, lovely room - spacious, great bed and sofa. Beautifully refurbished guest house - from top to bottom - tasteful and classy. Good food. Excellent service throughout 4 nights stay. Terrific location. Easy access to everything- including bus and railway station. Grateful for Hazel arranging cheap parking permit to park in next street.Great bus service - even on a Sunday-didn't need to use our car. Will definitely recommend to friends. Hope we can return soon -will be prepared to book early - this establishment's reputation is bound to spread very quickly - bound to be fully booked on a regular basis!! Good luck to Hazel and David in your venture - you deserve every success. Thanks again.😊

Reviewer:Amanda H | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Very friendly place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here last weekend, lovely place spotlessly clean, nice freshly cooked breakfast. Have booked again for next year, come as guests leave as friends.

Reviewer:Pat A | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


family hols - Rating 5/5

me and my wife and children have been to paighton for the last 15 plus years and this place and owners have been the best at everything if i could give 10 stars i would looking forward to coming next year and having the same room hazel and David couldn't be nicer if they tried even their own dogs were friendly

Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.As soon as you have dates for next year please let us know so we can get you the same roomHope the train ride home was good..Hazel x

Reviewer:Mr Anthony B | Tue 28th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Enjoyed - Rating 5/5

Cherwood is a great family place yo stay. Me my wife and 2 children stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. The host lisa is a very lovely and polite lady. Breakfast is a must if you stay as it is exactly what you need in the morning. Perfect and 10 out of 10. Rooms nice and clean. Cant ask for much more. Thank you lisa for a great stay and looking after our bags in tge morning as our train was at 2pm.

Reviewer:Panna S | Fri 21st Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely little guest house- Rating 5/5

very welcoming, brilliant breakfast,room were very nice clean and up to date decor. Nice and close to beach/pier and shops. Parking about 1 minuets walk away.

Reviewer:Jason Q | Sun 10th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Cherwood House- Rating 4/5

Comfortable , lovely room, attention to detail. Lovely breakfast room too.

Reviewer:Samantha P | Thu 7th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time room was clean breakfast superb and well looked after by the owner. Thank you for keeping our case on departure day so we were free to enjoy the day without carrying our suitcase. Would always recommend this place.

Reviewer:Rod T | Wed 6th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


My stay at the Cherwood - Rating 5/5

The guest house was in an ideal location.The room was clean and had plenty of drawer space which I found very useful.The breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice.The staff were lovely.Would stay there again when I am down in Devon.

Reviewer:Lorna G | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 4/5

Stay for 2 night with 16 year old,enough room for us all. like the fridge in the room so we could have cold drinks &have a nice big walk in shower.Breakfast was good size &filled us up for the day.

Reviewer:Julie B | Wed 29th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Road trip - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and accommodation for our show ort stay

Reviewer:Paul T | Thu 23rd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, comfortable room and lovely breakfast. For a reasonably priced seaside guest house it was excellent.

Reviewer:Colin C | Thu 23rd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We had a really nice time at Cherwood hotel. Staff very friendly. It is in a very good position for shops, pubs, beach and everything else you could need. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Reviewer:VALERIE A | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Definately stay again - Rating 5/5

We booked this guest house after reading other reviews and happily they were right.we had a great room with separate room for our young son and it was bliss. He had his own tv and dvd and was chuffed.the breakfasts were substantial and basically everything was tasty and hot.lovely host and great stay thankyou

Reviewer:Chris M | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


fabulous weekend - Rating 5/5

Second time to the cherwood, and a fabulous weekend again. A lovely place to stay, 2 monutes from the beach and town with a warm welcome from owner Lisa. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Dave B | Tue 24th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Over night stay in May 2016 - Rating 4/5

Lovely overnight stay at the cherwood. Spotless hotel and friendly staff. Will defiantly return soon.

Reviewer:Miss. Kelly T | Mon 9th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Cosy B&B - Rating 4/5

Everything was perfect at this B&B. We stayed at a busy weekend and everything from check-in, the room and the full English breakfast was brilliant. Will definitely stay again

Reviewer:Theresa T | Wed 4th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Value B&B - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my 3 days at the Cherwood, foodexcellent with a varied breakfast menu, location great, close to everything youcould need.

Reviewer:Keith M | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


Fabulous find- Rating 4/5

Great location - spacious spotlessly clean room,great value for money,good breakfast - would recommend and stay here again.Only thing that stops it getting 5 stars is the carpets - theyre clean but look quite old and dated.

Reviewer:Kay K | Fri 15th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Our holiday - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Cherwood,its a family run business and they are very friendly and helpful. It was also lovely and quiet which was great for getting the children off to sleep.

Reviewer:Zoe P | Sat 9th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


two night stay - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay at cherwood hotel,very friendly,clean and a lovely breakfast,good parking arangements,will stay there again

Reviewer:John Y | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic guest house- excellent location- Rating 5/5

Received a very warm welcome on arrival, room was spotless with everything you need including super comfy beds!, bottled water in the fridge was a nice touch. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Location was great just 1 mins walk from parking, seafront and pier, brilliant park for the kids also! Breakfast was lovely and the kids really appreciated the Easter eggs they were given on check out. Thank you. Will definitely be back for another visit one day.

Reviewer:Lyndsey D | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean, extremely welcoming and friendly landlady, bed was superb, so comfortable, excellent breakfast and a nice touch that I haven't seen anywhere else was a table top fridge in our room. Would definitely recommend this place to any one.

Reviewer:Chris M | Mon 29th Feb 2016 | 3 years ago


Very comfortable guest house - Rating 4/5

Stayed here one night in January. Was made to feel most welcome. Room was very comfortable.

Reviewer:Mike R | Fri 29th Jan 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful service - Rating 5/5

Great place. Spotless and the breakfasts to die for. Lisa the owner is just wonderful. Rooms great

Reviewer:Catherine G | Fri 22nd Jan 2016 | 3 years ago


all good! - Rating 5/5

Friendly clean and comfortable and a great location - all good!

Reviewer:Gail T | Thu 31st Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Very Pleasant - Rating 4/5

A lovely and very pleasant small hotel in an ideal situation close to Paignton beach. Superb service from very friendly owners and a fabulous breakfast...

Reviewer:Paul P | Wed 23rd Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Cherwood for one night. We had one double and the family room. The rooms were very bright and clean.Great location and yummy breakfast. Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Lisa H | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Phelmsman@ntlworld.com - Rating 5/5

Great little family guesthouse. We spent just five Nights here , &found it excellent value for money Lisa our host did every thing to make out stay as pleasant &comfortable as possible , our room was well furnished with comfortable bed ,&En - suite shower &toilet facilities more than adequate . We found the preselect your own breakfast Time &menu system very helpful enabling us to vary times to suit our day's events. The menu being well prepared &cooked to order was of s very high standard.We would recommend without reservation.... Thank You Lisa &family team for s very pleasant few days . Pete &Pat Tyler

Reviewer:PETER T | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Absolutely superb accommodation - the second time we have visited this year.Excellent room, comfortable bed and a breakfast to die for!What's not to like!Very highly recommended.

Response

thank you so much.hopefullysee you again soon,lisa x

Reviewer:Rod C | Sun 20th Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Mukava hotelli. - Rating 5/5

Nice place, good situation. Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Kari M | Sat 4th Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Cherwood Hotel - Rating 5/5

Nice comfortable hotel, in good location. Breakfast was good and plentiful We only stayed one night to break our journey but would be happy to stay longer on another trip. Thank you Lisa.

Reviewer:Kathleen W | Fri 3rd Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Super location, very friendly and helpful owners. Room was cosy, clean and offered everything we needed including little thoughtful extras which was a nice touch.Breakfast was cooked fresh to order and delicious too. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nicola S | Mon 29th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I have awarded 5 stars, if I could award 10 I would.Superb location near the sea front, bus/rail station and shops, beds comfortable, breakfast brilliant!We have been to Paignton many times and this is the best hotel we have stayed at - we will definitely return.

Reviewer:Rod C | Sun 21st Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

An excellent stay. Very convenient for railway station and seafront.

Reviewer:Mr. CLIVE R | Thu 18th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed 3 nights here and thought the B &B was excellent. The room was spacious and clean and and had all the amenities you could want. The bathroom was small but not cramped and again was very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked to order so was hot! I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra S | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Good overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service, lovely room and nice breakfast. What more could one ask for. Enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewI | Fri 12th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


very cean and fresh - Rating 4/5

My husbund and I were made very welcome at the cherwood .fantastic breakfast, and plenty of it.our room was clean and fresh. The only thing was the mattress and pillows were a bit uncomfortable, could do with replacing.but other than that it was all very good.

Reviewer:Lisa J | Fri 5th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


lovely place - Rating 5/5

Great location, right near the pier and shops,room spotlessly clean,and breakfast delicious, and very very filling,thank you

Reviewer:Hannah H | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Cool place to stay - Rating 5/5

Good sized room, clean and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Zarzeeth Seyed S | Tue 26th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Great Location - Very Clean & Good Food - Rating 5/5

Location is very good only a few yards walk to the sea front &not far from the Pier. Town centre is a ten min easy walk. Garfield Road is one way traffic with the no entry sign off the sea front which means it's not too noisy at night. The Hotel itself is very clean &well furbished,&the lighting is good.I'm a single female &stayed in the single double room on the ground floor situated at the front of the Hotel. Lisa the owner is approachable &helpful. When booking I informed her I was a vegetarian with Dairy &Yeast allergies. She got me the Soya milk &oat cakes that I'd requested. Breakfast had plenty of choices and was cooked well no greasy spoons here !!! I stayed here for 3 nights 30/31st Dec &1st Jan &would highly recommend this Hotel...Well done Lisa you're doing a great job.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemary B | Sat 3rd Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Delightful Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of the sea front and the town.We stayed in two family rooms and each one was tastefully decorated, light and airy, and our teenage daughter was delighted to find that her bed was in its own separate area with its own TV. The breakfast was very substantial with plenty of choice and our hosts, Chris and Lisa were very welcoming. The provision of car parking was also a much appreciated and thoughtful touch. I will definitely be recommending The Cherwood to family and friends looking for a delightful place to stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Cheryl P | Sun 31st Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Re-visit - Rating 5/5

Yet another wonderful comfortable and relaxing stay at stay at the Cherwood. Can highly recommed this hotel, you will certainly enjoy the relaxed but attentive style, and superb location of the hotel to all amenities.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan P | Sun 17th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Great Place to Stay in Paignton!! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel during the first May Bank Holiday and were very impressed with the room and the service we received. Very clean hotel throughout, fantastic hosts and great value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Ayokola O | Sat 10th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Cherwood for one night while travelling for business.The staff were great, breakfast was well done and the room was comfortable.Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Jesse S | Mon 28th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


maureen mcik /dawnapril 2014 - Rating 4/5

very pleasant staynice clean and comfortabale roomsgood breakfast with friendly hosts. will go back there next timewe stay in Paignton

Reviewer:Mrs. Maureen C | Tue 15th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


fantastic - Rating 5/5

would definetly reccommend

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen D | Fri 11th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


great location - Rating 5/5

5 min walk from the train station. Comfy bed. 1 minute walk to the beach, if that.Would recommend and stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Vitalijus T | Tue 1st Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


August Bank Holiday visit 2013 - Rating 5/5

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room, the breakfast was excellent and it didn’t feel that you were intruding in someone’s house as it can at some B&B’s but more like a mini hotel. We would defiantly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew T | Tue 27th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Our Recent Stay with You- Rating 5/5

As we travelled home from our visit to your hotel, my elderly Mother spoke very fondly of both hotel and the care we received. Having travelled down from Somerset by train, it turned out to be in the perfect situation for us, being so close to the station, shops, parks and beach. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and you both provided super breakfasts. Above all, we felt the overall atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. Many thanks to you both and Good Luck to the future of your excellent hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anna A | Sun 21st Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


CHERWOOD HOTEL - Rating 5/5

Excellent weekend spent at the CHERWOOD HOTELwould use again if down that way.Comfortable room and excellent food cannot fault thank you.

Reviewer:Brian D | Mon 20th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

cleanly decorated, peaceful. Fun staff/owners.Good breakfast, lots of choice and flexibility.Accomodating and free with tips and reccomendations for places to eat, where to get stuff etc. We were 2 adults and 2 kids in the same room and it was good fun.

Reviewer:Mr. John G | Thu 7th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays